Thursday, March 15, 2007

188 Stage Hero's Journey (Monomyth) - the World of the Oracle


The 188 stage Hero's Journey (Monomyth) is the template upon which the vast majority of successful stories and Hollywood blockbusters are based upon. In fact, ALL of the hundreds of Hollywood movies we have deconstructed (see URL below) are based on this 188+ stage template.

Understanding this template is a priority for story or screenwriters. This is the template you must master if you are to succeed in the craft.

[The terminology is most often metaphoric and applies to all successful stories and screenplays, from The Godfather (1972) to Brokeback Mountain (2006) to Annie Hall (1977) to Lord of the Rings (2003) to Drugstore Cowboy (1989) to Thelma and Louise (1991) to Apocaplyse Now (1979)].



a) Attempts to tap into unconscious expectations the audience has regarding what a story is and how it should be told.

b) Gives the writer more structural elements than simply three or four acts, plot points, mid point and so on.

c) Gives you a tangible process for building and releasing dissonance (establishing and achieving catharses, of which there are usually four).

d) Tells you what to write. For example, at a certain stage of the story, the focus should be on the Call to Adventure and the micro elements within.


(simply go to for full details)

*****World of the Oracle*****

Wolves Clothing. The Hero et al often disguise themselves to pass obstacles.

New Creatures. The Oracle is surrounded by creatures that are unique to his or her World and gifts. In The Matrix (1999), the Oracle is surrounded by others with special abilities.

Warnings. Some of these New Creatures may be hostile. They signify warning - no Ordinary Man gets to meet the Oracle. The Hero is warned that, if he is an Ordinary Man, some terrible curse will befall him (or her). Often the Hero will be turned to stone or some lower creature or similar.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?